Perched on the edge of the limestone plateau overlooking the salt marshes of Llanrhidian and the Loughor Estuary, Weobley Castle boasts some of the best views of the Gower Peninsula.
Weobley Castle was founded in the early 14th century by David de la Bere, steward to William De Braose, Lord of Gower. A fortified manor house rather than a castle, it is clear from its remains that Weobley was built for comfort rather than defence. In addition to generous guest apartments and well-heated halls, many of Weobley’s original garderobes remain to this day, although the defences of the south wall have long since crumbled.
Weobley’s lack of fortifications proved its downfall in 1406 when it was overtaken by an uprising of Owain Glyn Dwr’s followers, who reported it destroyed by 1410.
In actual fact, most of the castle remained and by the end of the 15th century it passed into the hands of Rhys ap Thomas, who added substantial refurbishments including the two-storey porch block. Much of the castle stands in good condition to this day, in particular the kitchen, hall, and solar.
The Gower Peninsula has enjoyed elevated status since it was named Britain’s first Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in 1956. An area of about 70 square miles, the peninsula’s many historic sites can be seen in a weekend, and it is well worth making the trip to Weobley Castle to see one of Wales’s most complete remaining manor houses – as well as some of the best scenery in the British Isles.
Don’t miss: Excellent views over the estuary from the hall.
Weobley Castle, Llanrhidian
Open 1 Apr–31 Oct daily 9.30am–6pm;
1 Nov–31 Mar daily 9.30am–5pm
Adults £2.60, concs/children £2.25, family £7.50
Mumbles tourist information: 01792 361302